1. While you are free to lurk, we welcome you to register for a (free) account so that you will be able to participate in forum discussions.

Copernic

Discussion in 'Meta Search Engines' started by Converse, Feb 28, 2015.

1. Converse Active Member

Converse

The very best search tool that I have ever come across is Copernic. Unfortunately, it is not available for a Mac. It is not free, and it is intended for online research rather than casual web searches. While I was with the ODP (DMOZ), Copernic was the go-to tool for seeding categories.

While I was an editor there, I made a bet with someone that I could find at least three websites for any locality category, which was the amount that was required in order to start a locality category, and Copernic was nearly always able to find at least three sites for even the tiniest locality. Some of these sites were not the best, but they were the best for that particular category.

Even when it was unable to find an actual site that related to the search topic, it would be able to find information on it. I was able to find only two sites for one town that I was challenged to so I cheated, and created a site for it using information obtained through Copernic, bought a domain, and put it up.

Copernic was great though, and I'll probably buy it again for the one PC that we have set up upstairs. There was a free version but the paid version added great value for the money.

Later... Looking at its site, it appears that Copernic is now focused on desktop and cloud search, which might be useful, but it's not the same as its original product. Their "Copernic Tracker" product might be closer to what they had before, because I could ask it to notify me whenever a new site went up that related to one of the categories that I was specifically responsible for. Actually, it looks like it might be a good SEO tool.