1. While you are free to lurk, we welcome you to register for a (free) account so that you will be able to participate in forum discussions.

Is it all okay for a Commercial Site to have a .edu TLD?

Discussion in 'Domains' started by SimplySidy, Nov 4, 2014.

1. SimplySidy Member

SimplySidy

Yesterday, I was discussing a website with a prospect. She is an Teacher by profession and is getting married sometime n Jan 2015. Unfortunately, her hubby is in a different city and as such, she plans to quit her job here and move to the new place after marriage. At her new place, she wants to enjoy the married life and does not want to keep working at schools or other places. Instead, she needs a website to be setup using which she can teach and continue with her Teaching profession.

So far, so good.

Now, the Question we got into last day - What should be the domain's extension? She said, she would like to have a .edu TLD and I said she should have a .com or .co.in extension - depending on the places she expected to get her students.

Personally, I think, it is unethical to have a .edu TLD for a Commercial Site where you are the only Teacher and you plan to integrate Paypal, and other payment options. She is unwilling to go with any other TLD as her logic is - the sites primary and only aim is to allow her to Teach her students.

What are your suggestions on the TLD for her domain ? I agree, my view is quite traditional and her's is about breaking the rules - or is it all okay today to go on with any TLD you like and there will be no issues later?

2. Converse Active Member

Converse