1. While you are free to lurk, we welcome you to register for a (free) account so that you will be able to participate in forum discussions.

PInterest, what am I missing ?

Discussion in 'Social Networking' started by mr_bucks, Jan 21, 2015.

1. mr_bucks New Member

mr_bucks

Initially I looked at PInterest, for me it didn't seem to serve much purpose. But for some reason it has an appeal to many people. Maybe I am missing something.

I just looked at it again. Instead of having a feed, there is a grid of pictures with optional text underneath. Can links to websites be embedded in this text ?

Since timelines with facebook are seen by other friends when you like things, images or posts can go viral. How do things go viral in PInterest ?

I feel like I am missing something really obvious.

2. Scorp Member

Scorp

Well, I'm no expert, but from what I know...

For one the Followers you have don't particularly matter, because your followers won't see your posts exactly like what happens on Facebook, Twitter and other social media sites. I mean, they might, but it's not like they'll get a notification or anything.

Anyway, the point in Pinterest is to find a way to join Large existing Boards, and share your pictures there. That's the trick from what I've read. Because large boards have a lot of people browsing through them, so sharing your stuff in them will put your stuff in front of many eyes.

Now, as far as making money with it, it's all about where you redirect people to. Every picture has a "Visit Site" type of link, so if you share a picture, and a lot of people see it, and they want to see more stuff related to your picture, they may click to Visit your Site. And if they visit your site then you can try to monetize them with affiliate marketing, or adsense, or whatever you can come up with.

There's a lot potential on Pinterest, but I haven't really gotten into that game for real yet.

mr_bucks likes this.
  3. Billy New Member

Billy